Cube Update, with MBS

Poor Brigid. I genuinely love the card and I like unique effects. Nonetheless, something has to make room, and there’s no question of finding a spot for the Crusader.

I think Justin will miss Pristine more than I will. She is a solid creature, but cuts are tough and the white-six spot is tougher. And Mana Tithe won my heart.

A cut that feels weird, but man has it been a while since Akroma was played. The Hero showed up once already, and totally rocked faces. Not that there was any question.

As I said in my Guild article on SCG, I felt that we had a surplus of Wrath effects. Martial Coup is the weakest, so it’s the one. Parallax Wave is a card I’ve been wanting to try forever, and this seemed like the time.

Probably should have done this sooner.

Planeswalker removal seems about right, and the Cutthroat was more-or-less placeholder anyway.

I wanted to try adding more discard, which is what this swap and the next one is about.

I guess the Scudder is where you start to think about the difference between “efficient” and “aggressive”.

After the Guild decks, I felt that red needed more straight-up burn, and Spikeshot has been ok but not outstanding.

Adding burn and things that work with burn. We had Wheel of Fortune in a while ago, but red was so bad at the time that I’m not sure it got a fair chance.

As I thought, we overshot a bit on the artifact destruction.

Also from the guild thing- I felt green had a surplus of land fetch that doesn’t ramp.


Fine, every one of these changes is from the guild experiment. I wanted more Wrath-proof guys in green, and I don’t want a whole color-aligned land cycle, so this seems fine here.

I enjoyed Mindslaver, but it doesn’t break my heart to see it go.

One of those cards I’ve been wanting to try. Do wish I hadn’t sold my FTV one, though.

10 responses to “Cube Update, with MBS

  1. great changes in general.

    i’m sad to see martial coup go but if you have enough of the effect, it’s a fine cut. i’d rather see lone missionary or enlightened tutor come in instead of parallax wave, though. i’m sad to see akroma go too, but i think it’s the right choice.

    volcanic hammer is great and should definitely be in this cube, but i don’t like losing a red one drop. surely the guy couldn’t have been bad enough to get kicked out when it’s so hard to find cubeable aggressive one drops? has he been worse than flameblast dragon? because that wasn’t the case when i tested both cards.

    i’m psyched to see mana tithe, stupor, and mana crypt going in. those are some of my favorite cards.

  2. I like everything but the juggernaut cut. I rather lose brittle effigy, Sword of Vengeance, or Scrabbling Claws than lose Juggernaut.

    • I could see cutting Sword of Vengeance- the other two feel necessary to me- but that’s pretty much earmarked for the new Sword, so I think Juggernaut would get cut in a few weeks anyway. But I also might expand artifacts by 5 (I cut the size of the cube by 5 a while back), in which case Juggernaut could come back. It’s been consistently fine, but not outstanding. I think it will be cut for good within the next few years.

  3. I’m open to trying Spikeshot again at some point, but he just hasn’t done anything. Every time I’ve had him, Cunning Sparkmage (a card I sometimes think about, actually) would have been better. But yeah- if he was actually functioning as an aggressive one drop, he wouldn’t get cut, but as is he’s done less than Raging Goblin.

    Flameblast gets a lot of flak, but he’s pretty game winning when we sticks, and we’re already choosing him over Rorix and Bogardan Hellkite. I’m happy with him for now.

    Good call on Lone Missionary (especially) and Enlightened Tutor. I might try to do that with my next update. Parallax Wave is just something I’ve wanted to try for a while.

    And yeah… I’m so excited about all those guys, Mana Crypt especially.

  4. Ideal switches for the most part! Although Martial Coup, Pristine Angel and Draining Whelk win games on their own. Those 3 are some of my personal favorite picks, being more or less a control drafter.

    You may want to look at your lower drops in white, being a color that also thives on being part control looking for win conditions. Has Steppe Lynx really done much for you past turn 3 or 4? A lack of fetch lands seem to make it much less fearsome in a limited environment than constructed. Also, are 2 2/1 fliers necessary as 2 drops? Personally I’ve found the Acolyte’s (Obsidian and Crimson) much more dangerous in weenie decks, yet a bit more situational. Guardian of the Guildpact as a 2/3 for 4 is also underwhelming, and even though he blocks fatties Brigid may be more efficient at what she does. And Transcendant Mast is a mana dump, personally I’d always pick Pristine Angel over. On a side note- seal of cleansing is much easier to deal with and play around than Revoke Existence.

    As for Blue, Careful Consideration kinda sucks for it’s mana, Jace’s Ingenuity is almost hand’s down better. And after seeing Aeon Chronicler almost always being an unused sideboard card, he saw the axe from my cube without remorse from my blue drafters. I’m fairly certain the whelk would evoke screams of disgust in my direction if he ended up cut.

  5. The Elder is on my watchlist, since while he can do something amazing with equipment / enchantments, most of the time you are only left with an expensive pinger.

    “You may want to look at your lower drops in white, being a color that also thives on being part control looking for win conditions. Has Steppe Lynx really done much for you past turn 3 or 4? ”
    Being able to safely attack into 2/2s makes me pick the Lynx over Elite Vanguard in my cube, even if you have to keep him back every other turn during the mid game.

    “Also, are 2 2/1 fliers necessary as 2 drops? ”
    They play very different than in regular limited, since there are actually very few cheap fliers in the cube, which makes them play like Soltari Trooper 2+3 most of the time.

    “Personally I’ve found the Acolyte’s (Obsidian and Crimson) much more dangerous in weenie decks, yet a bit more situational. ”
    The pro-black one was a really strong sideboard card in pauper, but against an unknown opponent, I would rather not have a 2 mana 1/1.
    As a sideboard only card, there are cards with a bigger impact on the game available, if you think something like this is good for the cube.

  6. “You may want to look at your lower drops in white, being a color that also thives on being part control looking for win conditions. Has Steppe Lynx really done much for you past turn 3 or 4? A lack of fetch lands seem to make it much less fearsome in a limited environment than constructed. Also, are 2 2/1 fliers necessary as 2 drops? ”

    this sounds like the advice of someone who doesn’t care too much about aggro. yes, these guys are all really awesome. lynx shouldn’t have to do too much past turn 4 anyway, and 2cc evasive 2 power guys are fantastic, especially when they’re splashable. from my own experiences running all of the cards in question, i think those three aggressive guys blow pristine angel out of the water.

  7. I really like the changes you made other then Spikeshot. I realize its a tough decision, and the 3 red adds are great, but removing a one drop from red makes me sad when there are already so few. Plus the amount of equipment in your cube makes him a decent pickup. I would much rather have spikeshot elder over something like Fireslinger or Squee, Goblin Nabob. Squee for me has been underwhelming, though nobody has gone surivial nightmare yet!

  8. I like most of the cards that are going in, and I understand that space is tight and hard choices need to be made, but I figured I’d give my two cents:
    Akroma and Pristine, while costly, are really hard to deal with game enders and I feel like their are other cards that should be cut before them (maybe Transcendent Master and Temporal Isolation?).

    Attrition is way more powerful than Inquisition. If you really want discard in, maybe there is something else to take out, but attrition is such a powerhouse that I’d hate to see it get the axe for something this lackluster.

    Black Vise I don’t think is worth inclusion. Maybe if you turn one it in a really aggro deck against a really slow deck? I guess let me know how it is, maybe I’m wrong, I just imagine drawing this after turn 4-5 and having it do nothing.

  9. Max- I like hearing your thoughts!

    The issue with Pristine and Akroma is that excellent is not the same as needed. I built a bunch of precons from my cube and found that there was a glut of finishers. Furthermore, every color that pairs with white for control supplies its own finishers. I do see Transcendent Master getting cut eventually, but it’s been surprisingly good. Temporal Isolation has been fantastic and I’d cut many things before that.

    I’d like to have Attrition back in too. The thing is that we’ve recently cut a decent number of cards that work well with it- Squirrel Nest, Sprout Swarm, Ant Queen – and I don’t see it helping to shore up any bad matchups. It’s mostly good against the decks that are already weak to black removal. That said, I love it and I could see swapping it in at some point.

    One of the reasons I wanted Inquisition in is that I’ve recently been taking a hard look at cards that are much, much better game one than otherwise, like Draining Whelk. Inquisition is the opposite, because it punishes good keeps by your opponent. And how often do you miss with Duress, but still win because you know their hand? Getting an early look at what your opponent is planning on doing is super-strong regardless. I don’t think it’s lackluster.

    To be fair, I’m trying Black Vise because I saw one while I was looking for a Forbid. But the logic behind it is that it is functions like a colorless Savannah Lions. If you play it on turn one, it gets in for something like 4 damage. Later, it might do nothing. But those decks just need redundancy, and it’s another one drop. That said, we haven’t seen it yet so I can’t especially vouch for it. I did have it played against me in MTGO cube, and it did about that – 4 or 5 damage.

Leave a Reply

