Small Cube Update- Yawgmoth’s Will!

Consuming Vapors got a short trial run, and I don’t love it. It’s obviously fine, but much as in constructed, it’s not always what you want and is super slow. We’re trying Yawgmoth’s Will instead, which seems to be a high pick for lots of people who cube and worth a shot.

As an aside, man am I a little bummed about the Judge foil Survival. It’s pretty, but more lovey-circle-of-elves than “Survival of the Fittest”. I think I’m going to do a post about the promo cards that are worth it in the cube, in terms of having nice art or comparing favorably to the original. Mostly just so I can bitch about Ron Spencer. Zing!

4 responses to “Small Cube Update- Yawgmoth’s Will!

  1. Keening Banshee, Eyeblight’s Ending, Okiba-Gang, Beacon and Ashes to Ashes are cards that I’d consider worse than Consuming Vapors (if I had to cut something else, I’d say Eyeblight’s the cut since it’s the worst targeted removal spell that you’re running.)

    You shan’t be disappointed with YawgWill, it’s nutters. 🙂

  2. Which of those cards have you played with in the cube? Ashes to Ashes in particular I have to totally disagree with- it’s completely insane and outside of what black should be able to do.

  3. All but Banshee. I’ve only played with A2A in commons, but it’s pretty solid there.

    Eyeblight’s probably the pick, it’s pretty inefficient considering the other options for removal.

  4. Eyeblight’s definitely costs more than Terror and allows regeneration, but it also hits nearly everything. I think it’s the most universal spot removal in black. Like Krosan Grip, it costs more but also fulfills a more universal function.

    I agree that Banshee will probably go someday (when there is a new Nekrataal) but Consuming Vapors is totally marginal in my opinion. There are situations where it’s good, but it can also do nothing or do it too slowly to matter. In standard, it beat out Fleshbag as a splashable Edict, but I don’t think it’s good enough for the cube and playing with it didn’t change my mind. I would probably include it if I was running a bigger cube though – if I was adding 10 cards in black, for example.

Leave a Reply

