GP Pittsburgh Cube Updates

So, it’s been such an embarrassingly long time since I’ve updated that I’m actually just going to throw out a list of what we’re currently running from New Phyrexia and Magic 2012, rather than a list of changes.

The big philosophical change since I’ve updated is that we aren’t supporting green aggro anymore, which I’ve been very happy with. The ramp cards we have instead are a bigger draw to draft green, in my opinion, and our green decks have been better and more frequent.

From NPH, Blade Splicer and Birthing Pod are on a trial basis, but everything else is pretty solid.

Batterskull
Beast Within
Birthing Pod
Blade Splicer
Despise
Dismember
Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite
Karn Liberated
Life’s Finale
Moltensteel Dragon
Phyrexian Metamorph
Porcelain Legionnaire
Sheoldred, Whispering One
Spellskite
Sword of War and Peace
Urabrask, the Hidden

From M12, the Mages are still kind of questionable, and I haven’t yet been really impressed with Chandra. Everything else is safe.

Azure Mage
Chandra’s Phoenix
Chandra, the Firebrand
Crimson Mage
Garruk, Primal Hunter
Jace, Memory Adept
Phantasmal Image
Skinshifter
Stormblood Berserker

In the bragging sector, we came home with some sweet stuff from the GP:

I’m really excited about the Demonic Tutor in particular – so pretty!

We got to cube a bit at the GP as well, first with Alex Bertoncini’s combo cube (“no spot removal and no counters- whatever you do is going to happen”) and then with Tim Pskowski’s cube.

Finally, on the subject of Innistrad, Diregraf Ghoul is an easy include if you support aggro in black, and I think Spectral Rider (WW, 2/2 Intimidate) will make it as well.

11 responses to “GP Pittsburgh Cube Updates

  1. sexyindiancurry

    I don’t think Spectral Rider will make it. WW guys have to be really good to make it into cube : soltari bros and knight of meadowgrain are the only WW cards I run in my 360. I’d rather run Accorder Paladin, or a pegasus, or maybe even a blade of the sixth pride, because they’re more reliably going to be cast T2.

  2. … but my cube isn’t 360, I run the 1W cards you’re talking about (except Blade of the Sixth Pride), and I’m pretty positive Spectral Rider will be better than White Knight or 8.5 Tails.

  3. I cut 8.5 tails a while ago and haven’t missed him once. Way too mana intensive.

  4. mmmmm, foil vindicate!

  5. I’m more than slightly disappointed that I did realize you guys were at the GP. I would have loved to talk cube or draft, and maybe help out with the pimpage. Next time…

  6. mmmmm, foil treachery

    Is there an updated cube list in our future?

  7. Any chance to get in on this goodness?

  8. I had all the mages in my commons/uncommons cube and they’ve all proven their worth (I even have an altered Jade Mage now… looks absolutely awesome), except for Crimson Mage. You rarely have the mana up and when you have it, it hardly compensates for the fact that you’re playing a 2 mana 2/1. Dunno, maybe your experiences differ, but I just wanted to point that out.

  9. You said you don’t support aggro in green anymore. Are those changes to the cube reflected in your current list on the site? Green doesn’t seem different at all. Also, we were just talking about doing this ourselves so I would be interested in hearing a more in depth thought process for why this was done and why you feel it is more successful the way it is now. =)

  10. Also while Jace 3.0 is good enough for a cube, we didn’t include him in our 720 card cube because he is incredibly boring…and not fun to play with or against. It doesn’t even feel satisfying when you win a game with him.

Leave a Reply

