Marit Lages in Overextended

For Worldwide Overextended Day, I was (as my husband helpfully relayed to twitter) definitely going to be making some Marit Lages. I’d played a UB Hexmage Depths list at Providence (in Legacy), but without Force of Will and Daze, I wanted a more resilient plan in the deck as well. Here’s what I ran-

4 Dark Depths
1 Flooded Strand
1 Godless Shrine
1 Hallowed Fountain
1 Island
2 Marsh Flats
1 Plains
3 Polluted Delta
2 River of Tears
1 Sunken Ruins
1 Swamp
3 Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth
2 Watery Grave

4 Dark Confidant
4 Vampire Hexmage
4 Stoneforge Mystic

1 Batterskull
1 Bitterblossom
2 Dismember
3 Jace, the Mind Sculptor
4 Mental Misstep
3 Muddle the Mixture
3 Smother
1 Spell Pierce
1 Sword of Fire and Ice
4 Thoughtseize
1 Umezawa’s Jitte

Sideboard:

1 Bribery
1 Dismember
2 Gatekeeper of Malakir
4 Hurkyl’s Recall
1 Manriki-Gusari
2 Phyrexian Revoker
1 Sword of Body and Mind
1 Sword of Light and Shadow
2 Teferi’s Response

I played against Affinity, Twelvepost, Affinity, Elves, and Affinity in the course of my sweet sweet victory. Obviously no Recalls ever, but I did get to Bribery an Emrakul which is more or less all I wanted. I had a hard time figuring out the last few spots in my decks, and if I hadn’t seen a bunch of creature decks before the event I might have chosen differently.

I wanted to try to a Bitterblossom in this deck, but after taking 6 or so damage from my own cards every game, I’m not so sure.

Teferi’s Response was only relevant in one matchup, and I didn’t cast it, but I had to try…

5 responses to “Marit Lages in Overextended

  1. Good game for your result….
    And really nice tuned list, i really like it.

    hope this format will be a real one next year ?

  2. Why no Vendilion cliques btW ?
    And stoneforge x4 was okay or less could be good ?

  3. Thanks! The list is far from tuned, though- I just put it together for this event. I wasn’t running Vendilion Cliques because compared to Faerieblade (for example, this list: http://mtgoverextended.com/0628-tuesday-night-overextended-results/), I had the same number of (non-land) creatures already and space was tight, but I could see fitting two in.
    I think against other Stoneforge decks you probably want all four, but maybe you could have one in the board.

  4. Congrats, all this comes from Std/Legacy/Classic experience but…

    I’d shave:
    1 Bitterblossom
    1 Jace, the Mind Sculptor
    1 Muddle the Mixture
    1 Smother
    1 Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth
    for
    3 Chrome Mox
    2 Inquisition of Kozilek

    Deck seems light on mana and Chrome Mox is just amazing with both Bob and SFM to play. I like Inquisition in this deck to give you a better chance of seeing a discard spell/their hand each game. Actually G Probe would probably be a nice 2x but not sure what to cut. Vendillion Clique would also fill this role and I know I’d try really hard to fit a couple in. <3 that card an unreasonable amount.

    I don't see the need for any of the sideboard equipment. Just don't feel a need to side in more whenever I play UW in larger formats. I also think that a 3/1 Split on Recall/Kataki would be better than 4/0. When you have to transmute you'll usually need to get Recall to avoid dying but drawing Kataki early on is great or tutoring for one after Recall. With cutting the Jace maindeck I'd look to max out on Mindsculptors post-board vs the hate.

    • Thanks for the reply! I was really nervous about Chrome Mox based on my experience playing WB Obliterator decks against Landstill, but I’d definitely try it if I played the deck again. Cuts were really tough as well, although losing a piece of removal and a Bitterblossom is just fine in retrospect.

      Agreed about the non-Manriki sideboard equipment. I wouldn’t run it again.

      The Spell Pierce could probably go, leaving one spot for a Clique. Any thoughts on another cut?

Leave a Reply

